Skip to content

Neese’s Bacon is Meat-a-licious

May 22, 2011

It’s not a question of why, but why it took so long.  Neese’s Sausage has been a staple of fine North Carolina breakfast’s for many, many years.  Their special blend of meat parts and seasoning has made many a breakfast biscuit or holiday party sausage ball special.

They now produce their own bacon.  It comes a 16oz package as opposed to 12 oz of Oscar Meyer or Smithfield, so there is a little more bang for the buck. The bacon is a bit saltier than other bacons.  It’s almost like country ham.

It cooks up to a consistent crisp texture and the flavor goes well with eggs, fruit and syrup.  Next time we’re going to try it on a BLT Ranch wrap.  But for breakfast, it gets a big thumbs up!

Sunday Jazz Brunch – Neese’s Bacon, Dirty Eggs, French-Canadian Toast and Fresh Blueberries.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 3, 2011 9:55 pm

    You’re doggone tootin T$…Neese’s bacon is the BEST!! I started seeing it at Food Lion several months ago, and was shell-shocked! As you say, why haven’t they had bacon all along!? I’ve eaten various brands of bacon over the years (Oscar Mayer, Smithfield, etc.); they’re not bad, but since I’ve started eating NEESE’S…nothing else will do! 😉

    • June 15, 2012 12:32 pm

      We’re looking for Neese’s bacon ’cause we like it too. Where can we find it?

  2. Rita Messer permalink
    July 21, 2011 12:31 pm

    could someone tell me where I can buy some of this Neese’s Bacon? We have bought and loooved the liver pudding and sausage since I was a little girl (back in the ’50’s.) Now I cook it for my husband and myself and we only buy Neese’s.

    We saw the TV commercial for the bacon and cannot find it anywhere.

    Thanks
    Rita Messer

    • Howard Parker permalink
      March 25, 2012 8:33 am

      I was getting it at Harris Teeter on Ardrey Kell & Rea Road until two weeks ago. I asked for it because there was none out, and was told that they were discontinuing it. Luckily they had a few packages in the back and I scooped them up. I hear that Loews now has it.

  3. Jackie Dougherty permalink
    February 16, 2012 8:07 am

    I recently saw the Neese Bacon in Lowes Foods. I did not know you made bacon, and because I really love your other products, I decided to try it. The bacon is wonderful. However, before I used the entire package, it began to smell bad and I was afraid to use it. I bought another package which I have not opened. I tried in the store to find the expiration date but had no luck. Maybe I was looking in the wrong place.

    Can you tell me where the expiration date is on the package and, perhaps, how long you can keep the bacon before freezing or spoilage. I had the bacon wrapped twice and was so sorry to have this happen.

    Thanks for your help.

    Jackie Dougherty

    • February 16, 2012 10:30 am

      Hi Jackie,
      I am not affiliated with Neese’s,
      just a food fan. I recommend emailing them @ info@neesesausage.com
      Thanks for looking at my blog!
      T

Leave a Reply

