Skip to content

Just Standing Around All Day At Work

July 24, 2011

Tomorrow I begin my second full week of using a stand up desk.  Last week was a bit tiring but as I got used to not sitting over the course of the week, I actually felt better and got more work done.  My legs feel rubbery at the end of the day, but it’s not unlike a good elliptical session at the gym.

I began using a stand up desk because of a recent study that showed sitting more than 6 hours a day, even if you exercise, could cause you to die 15 years earlier than someone who sat less than 3 hours a day.  Since most of my job and free time consists of AV production, I realized I was sitting as much as 12 hours a day.  It was really affecting my back and my core was weak.

My stand up desk in action

I really like the idea of a  stand up desk and it seems to suit me.  It was pretty cheap and easy to make.  The parts are all available at Ikea: Vika Byske Legs (4), Capita Bracket (1 pack), Lack shelf, Vika Amon Table Top.  If you find your back achy and legs restless and are getting a bit tubby, this could be a solution for you too.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

