Skip to content

Yes. I’m desperate. Enter Craigslist.

September 5, 2011

 

Does this scream of desperation or what?  Yes it’s mine.

 

 

winston-salem craigslist > community > musicians

Anybody Still Play Rock? Looking for musicians to start band. (Triad)


Date: 2011-09-04, 7:56PM EDT
Reply to: comm-dkzn2-2582235599@craigslist.org [Errors when replying to ads?]


I’ve been watching Craigslist for a while looking for some folks to play music with. Since I don’t want to play Contemporary Christian, Jack Johnson/Dave Matthews covers, DeathScreamSludgeStonerHair Metal, New Country, Emo, Southern Rock, etc. I haven’t had much luck. I am in my late 30s, have kids and a job I enjoy, not trying to “make it”, not looking to make some big money. I just want to play in a rock band that is creative, experimental, diverse, open minded and plays some gigs.

I have a studio that is in my home that could be used for rehearsals on the weekends but with kids who go to bed early, it would be nice to have somewhere to else. One of my pet peeves is being considered way too old, according to the ads, so age is not an issue.

I have played lead guitar and bass in bands that have been signed (which really doesn’t mean much except to validate my ability, I guess). After my gig playing Hopscotch in Raleigh next week, I would like to put together a project and see where it goes. Any and all instruments are fine as long as the player is competent and able to pick things up fairly quickly, not really looking to mentor anyone. Influences are anything you come into contact with everyday that affect your decision making.

What have I listened to in the past few weeks?
Wilco, Whiskeytown, The Jayhawks, Lou Reed, Luna, Buck Owens, Calexico, Gentleman Losers, Bill Frisell, Cotton Jones, Anouar Brahem, Bowie, Grant Green, Los Straitjackets, M Ward, Pink Floyd, Gilian Welch & David Rawlings, Bambi Molesters, Iron & Wine, American Music Club, Pink Martini, Kurt Rosenwinkle, Doves, Elbow, Tin Hat Trio, Polvo, Kingsbury Manx, Tons of ECM and BlueNote, Cinematic Orchestra, Tom Petty, The Clash, Radiohead, Todd Rundgren, The Sonics, Jose Gonzalez, Mojave 3, Sun Kil Moon, The Cars, Josh Rouse, Serge Gainsbourg, The Smithereens, Vetiver, The Clientele, American Analog Set, Ida, F.S. Blumm, etc…

I’m not pretentious enough to expect someone to know all of these, but it is what I like and if you look any of them up, you may like them too (but if you don’t that is OK). Email me for a link to one of my songs. Please respond with something you have done.

Any takers?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

